Vet Times reports on Ceva Animal Welfare Awards 2016 finalists ( Includes Blue Fox Co Founder)

By February 18, 2016 Uncategorised

 We are delighted that one of our Co- Founders has been selected as one of three finalists in the Ceva Animal Welfare Awards which celebrates its 5th anniversary this year. The awards are dedicated to individuals and teams who go above and beyond the call of duty for the welfare of animals and the awards allows Ceva the opportunity to thank them for their contribution. It is also a great platform to showcase the work that people do.

Blue Fox Co- Founder Lorraine Platt said  upon hearing of being one of three finalists for the Ceva Animal Welfare Awards 2016 Volunteer of the Year Award:

‘I am honoured and delighted to have been selected as a finalist for the Ceva Animal Welfare Awards along with finalists I admire and respect for their dedication to animal welfare.

I want to thank all who nominated me and  supported my nomination’.


ceva-awards-logo3-285x300.jpg blue fox

Ceva Animal Health has revealed the shortlist for its 2016 Animal Welfare Awards.

In addition to the scheduled seven categories, the judges have added an award in special recognition of an extraordinary act of animal welfare.

The awards serve to raise the profile of animal welfare around the world and within the veterinary industry.





Ceva “overwhelmed at the tales of extraordinary passion” every year.


Chris Laurence Vet of the Year Award

in association with Veterinary Times

Heather Bacon – The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

Kirsten Jackson – DentalVet

Tim Partridge – Vale Wildlife Hospital


Farm Animal Welfare Award

in association with RABI and NADIS

Jon Huxley & Martin Green (joint entry) – University of Nottingham Dairy Herd Health Group

Ruth Clements – FAI Farms


Charity Professional of the Year

in association with PDSA

David Yates – RSPCA, Greater Manchester

William Fowlds – Wilderness Foundation

Claire Sedgwick – Help the Street Animals of Morocco


Charity Team of the Year

in association with Your Cat and Your Dog


Cat Population Control Group

PDSA Community and Education Veterinary Nurses team


Volunteer of the Year Welfare Award

in association with Blue Cross

John and Judith Morton – East Midlands Retired Greyhound Trust

Jane Virot – National Animal Welfare Trust

Lorraine Platt – Conservatives Against Fox Hunting


VN Times Welfare Nurse of the Year Award

Jo Hinde – Rabbit Welfare Association and Fund

Rachel Radwell – Wood Green

Shakira Free-Miles – Royal Veterinary College, Beaumont Sainsbury Veterinary Hospital


International Cat Care Welfare Award

Sponsored by Agria Pet Insurance

International Cat Care will be choosing the winner from its extensive member base to be announced at the ceremony.


‘Extraordinary passion’

Ginette Bryant Corporate Communication manager of Ceva Animal Health comments: “Each year we are overwhelmed at the tales of extraordinary passion and commitment to animal welfare and the touching nominations that are submitted by friends, colleagues, students and clients from around the world.

“As always, the judges have struggled choosing between so many praiseworthy entries; this year they have decided to present one special additional award which will be announced at the ceremony on 6 April.”

All winners will be revealed at the ceremony in Birmingham, ahead of BSAVA Congress.

For information on tickets and availability, email or telephone 01494 781510.